Junior A Hurlers defeated in County last 16 tie

After winning the West Cork title Clonakilty progressed to the new County set-up where they were drawn to play Ballyhooly. The game was played in Blarney on Saturday September 16th in front of a large attendance.

Clon received an early boost when a Ballyholly player was very harshly dismissed. Clon capatalised on this and raced into an early five point lead as they continued on from their West Cork final performance. However Ballyhooly grew into the game and were awarded numerous frees which they capitalized on to lead Clon by a point at half time.

Clon began the second half well but the game was interrupted for several stoppages as the referee had an ongoing running battle with the Ballyhoolhy sideline. Disaster than struck with a quarter of the game remaining as Thomas Clancy was dismissed for an off the ball incident. Clon rallied again and has built up a four point lead entering the last few minutes. Ballyhooly were then awarded four very scoreable frees in the dying minutes of the game to send the game to extra time.

Both teams were then restored to the full compliment of 15 players for extra time but the referee again took center stage as Sean White was sent off for an incident that no one apart from the referee saw. Ballyhoolhy got a goal before half time in extra time and this always looked like the decisive score. There was no score from either side in the last 10 minutes of extra time as Ballyhoolhy kept Clon at bay. Final score Clonakilty 1-14 Ballyhoolhy 1-17 ( AET )

Overall it was a very disappointing defeat and end of season for this Clon team. Unfortunately the referee took center stage in proceedings and spoilt the game of hurling. The team will be in action before the years end in a West Cork Hurling league final against a yet to be confirmed opponent.

Team : Mark White , Ciaran Crowley , Pa O’Sullivan(0-01) , Mark Sheehy , Denis Murphy , David Lowney , Sean O’Donoghue , Alan Murphy , Liam O’Donovan , Sean White(0-05,3f) , Thomas Clancy(0-04) , Tiarnan O’Connell , Martin Scally(0-01) , Timmy Anglin , Sean McEvoy ( 1-03 )

Subs used : Eoin Ryan , Cian O’Donovan , Shane Collins , Eoghan Deasy